JOGLE
 
Not that I’m boasting, but my Saturday and Sunday training mileages came to 128 miles in total. Mat has been entertaining the kids all weekend so I have been able to get two decent rides against his zero. Not that we’re being competitive ...

The weather was as sunny as forecasted so I decided to head south on Saturday morning. Without too much boring detail, I cycled through Tebworth, Stanbridge, Eaton Bray and up to Whipsnade via Bison Hill. After a fuel stop at Studham, Dagnall and very rough potholed roads into Berkhamsted, I ended up at Chesham and celebrated with a bacon buttie for lunch.  After this I headed for Great Missenden and skirted south of Wendover to the edge of Tring. Turning north east after Ivinghoe, the hill and the cold headwind added a bit of a challenge to the last 10 miles.

On Sunday, my long suffering wife had to drive up to Birmingham, so I hitched a ride as far as Coventry and wrapped up for another sunny chilly ride back to Westoning. After the Lutterworth I had two routes in mind, and because of the breezy headwind I decided the A5 was the sensible option. Although the traffic moves fast, there is plenty of room for cyclists to be given a wide berth. The road was also full of Sunday morning enthusiasts either on motorbikes or classic cars, which livened up a very straight road, the most memorable car being a 1960s Jaguar at maximum speed. 

The most memorable BLT was served at the Super Sausage at Potterspury together with the best cup of tea before heading towards Stony Stratford and Bletchley, Woburn Sands and back home. That was a 5 hour stint in the saddle another 60 miles clocked up but it was a pleasant surprise that the previous day’s cycling hadn’t left me exhausted for Sunday. Maybe ten days in a row won’t be too painful after all....

 My Ebay Specialzed Sirrus is turning out to be a perfect training bike. It is very light and high geared, but the wheels and hubs are taking a battering thanks to the condition of the weather worn roads so I am toying with the idea of going for newer hybrid before too long to buy more reliability.

Finally this week, thanks to those of you who have already helped out with donations and offers of back-up so far.  We will doubtless take you up on all your offers as we get closer to June.

- Porks.

Mat
3/13/2010 05:03:20 pm

Sounds like a challenge there Mr.E?
Thank goodness our next ride is together before the competition kills one of us!!!

Reply
katie dibb
4/26/2010 01:48:48 am

well done paul (porky)doing a good job

Reply
1/2/2011 02:14:09 pm

Excellent content - as you always provide and inspires me to come again and again. There is one more valuable resource I'd like to share with others readers. Very good tips of stock market. Thanks...

Reply



Leave a Reply.