JOGLE
 
This weekend our great friend and JOGLE sponsor, Simon hosted a wonderful BBQ with his brother Pete at their home in Flitwick, Bedfordshire.

What weather! It was just a brilliant day of food, drink, family and friends.

As ever though, it offered me a hidden training opportunity....  and I spotted the chance to add a ‘back-to-back’ training session to my programme, which I had been really hoping for at some point.

So I pedalled off from home at around 10am on Saturday morning, with my route strapped to my handlebars and the sun on my back.

Meanwhile my long suffering wife dealt with swimming lessons, children’s friend’s birthday party, and then drove up to Flitwick to meet me at the BBQ with the kids.
(thanks Hay... x)


I arrived after 4hrs 45mins of cycling, and 80 miles, having followed  a lovely route, especially the stretch through Windsor Great park and the back lanes nearing Flitwick – and of course the weather made a big difference.  After which I spent the next 5 hours steadily eating and drinking.

After staying over with Paul and Jayne (She’s such a lovely lady, as my ever observant son pointed out) I gingerly climbed back onto my bike to come home after lunch on Sunday. Paul joined me until half way, along with his training buddy, Pete who set a fairly aggressive pace for my less-than-fresh legs!  I said my farewells to Paul and Pete at 40 miles, and they headed back up to Toddington.

Needless to say the tow to half distance was appreciated, and I made it home after another couple of hours and a half. The rain showers arrived as I was passing Ascot Racecourse, which worried me as I hadn’t packed full wet gear – but it turned out to be light – thankfully.  

I was pretty exhausted when I got back, and enjoyed probably one of the best hot baths I’ve had in a very long time!

160 miles, just over 10hrs riding time.

Mat.




Leave a Reply.